One of the many lessons I have learned about photography is that you don’t always get what you want. And that’s not always a bad thing.

On this particular day, my photo-buddy Jason and I set out to take some “concept” pictures of The Dominator shipwreck on the Palos Verdes Peninsula. To get to it, we had to negotiate about a mile-and-a-half of shoreline covered in boulders the size of small buses and VW bugs, and eventually coming up against this sheer vertical cliff.  Despite our vigilant eye, neither of us had seen anything vaguely shipwreck-like anywhere on the way, although there was a wonderful old rusted bicycle we both photographed.  Jason decided to brave the rocky cliff to see if there was wreckage on the other side, but I was done rock-climbing and I decided to stay put on this ledge at the foot of the cliff, with waves crashing just below me, mulling over the futility of our little expedition.  It was during that wait that I sat back in contemplation and realized how fortunate I was to be surrounded by such exquisite scenery, and I snapped this picture.

On August 25, 2011, this image was chosen for LA Photo of the Day!!

