Today I drove just under 500 miles..  It is just before 8 pm, writing from my hotel room, struggling to stay awake.  It is the first day of my Mojave adventure, and all indications are that it is going to be amazing.   But the preserve is also incredibly far, and the distances in the park itself are daunting.  Thus, I may have to revisit my original idea of numerous short visits in favor of just a few longer stays.

This is more of a reconnoiter than truly a photo expedition, as until today, I had no idea what I would be facing, other than 1.6 million acres of desert.  Mojave is the 3rd largest national park in the lower 48 (after Death Valley and Yellowstone), and for the most part, full of nothing.  To find and photograph its natural beauty is a daunting, but welcome, task. Thus, half the trip is being spent working out logistics, including meeting up with Linda, my park ranger connection, and the other in trying to find the Fine Art angle of the emptiness.

I may be so blessed as to have found that angle today – the very first visit –  though I will have to wait until I get home to see the pictures, as I have foreseen every conceivable issue save a card reader that’s kaput. So instead of posting something from the my first visit to  park, I will share the first image of the day, taken with my cellphone during lunch. I do believe it augers well for this, or some as yet unknown Adventure:

Image

